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zeaner L] v. Massinga Reporting: Measure 121

Date: July 3, 2009/ Revised: May 26, 2020

Measure
121 95 percent of caseworkers met the qualifications for their position title under Maryland
| State Law.
Source/Criteria

1. LJv. Massinga, MCD, p. 39, Section V(D)(2):
Qualified Workforce with appropriate training and supervision

a. Definitions:

(1) “Qualified Workforce” means that all caseworkers shall have the
qualifications required by Maryland state law.

(2) All supervisors of caseworkers shall be social workers licensed under
the requirements of Maryland state law.

(3) New caseworkers shall receive at least five weeks of pre-service
training before being assigned any cases and shall thereafter receive
twenty hours of training per year.

2. Maryland Human Services Article §4-301.

(b) (1) The Secretary shall hire as caseworkers only human services professionals, such as:

(1) social workers licensed in accordance with Title 19 of the Health Occupations
Article;

(i1)) psychologists licensed in accordance with Title 18 of the Health Occupations
Article;

(iii)) professional counselors certified in accordance with Title 17 of the Health
Occupations Article;

(iv) nurses licensed in accordance with Title 8 of the Health Occupations Article;

(v) school psychologists certified in accordance with regulations adopted under Title 6,
Subtitle 7 of the Education Article; and
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(vi) human service workers who:
1. have a degree in an appropriate behavioral science;
2. have completed the mandatory preservice training and competency test; and
3. are supervised by licensed social workers.

(c) The Secretary shall:

(1) implement a preservice training program and competency test for newly employed
caseworkers;

(2) require that all new casework staft:

(i) be hired provisionally;

(i) except for staff described in item (4) of this subsection, complete a 40—hour
preservice training program; and

(i11)) pass a competency test before being granted permanent employment status;

(3) implement mandatory standards for continuing education for all caseworkers and
casework supervisors that require that employees who fail to obtain the required continuing
education credits be subject to disciplinary action, including demotion, suspension, and
dismissal;

(4) develop and implement mandatory standards that exempt newly hired individuals who
have documented and verified casework experience or hold appropriate State licensure from the
40-hour preservice training program specified in item (2)(ii) of this subsection; and

(5) require caseworkers who are exempt from the preservice training program specified in
item (2)(ii) of this subsection and fail the competency test to participate in the preservice training
program and to take and pass the competency test before being granted permanent employment

status.
Key Data
: Personnel record
New hire data
system
Proof of qualifications Human resources
department
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Calculations for Measuring Compliance

Definition Of all new child welfare caseworkers hired during the report period, the
percent that met the qualifications for their position title under Maryland
Law.

Denominator Number of new caseworkers to whom cases were first assigned during the
reporting period.

Numerator Of those in the denominator, number of caseworkers for whom there is:

1. a. Proof of valid license or certification as listed in Human Services Art.
Section 4-301(b)(1)(i)-(v) OR
b. Proof that the caseworkers
1. have a degree in an appropriate behavioral science;
ii. have completed the mandatory preservice training; and
111. are supervised by licensed social workers.
AND
2. Evidence in the system of record of no case assignments prior to written
proof of successful passage of competency test.

Unit s of analysis

Caseworkers — unique caseworkers are counted.

Six-month The percentage of caseworkers that met this standard will be calculated by
calculation BCDSS on a monthly basis for each six-month reporting period. Compliance
methodology is achieved when the measure calculation for the six-month reporting period
reaches at least 95% compliance.
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